• #1 Shit Slaughter
  • #2 Lions & Peonies
  • #3 My Dark Angel
  • #4 Temple of Mithras
  • #5 Night Mare's Milk
  • #6 Son of the Blue Wolf
  • #7 Shadow of the Golden Fire
  • #8 Machine
  • #9 Spirit Animal Danzig
  • #10 Austrian Shade
  • #11 Latex Unicorn
  • #12 Frogs
  • #13 Dharma Gin
  • #14 She is the Darkness / The Argument
  • #15 Little Ornamental Lake of Death
  • #16 Sky Burial
  • #17 Marijuana Suicide
  • #18 Zebra
  • #19 Trampled Dawns
Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.


Black Sun Roof / Feral


formats available
  • LP+CD
    VHF 131
    Street Date:
    November 27th, 2012
    Ship Date:
    November 19th, 2012
    Street Date:
    October 16th, 2012

Login with your wholesale account for wholesale pricing, or contact us at

Feral marks the return of Matthew Bower’s Sunroof! (in the guise of Black Sun Roof), for their first recording in five years. Quiet since 2007’s blistering Panzer Division Lou Reed, the group delivers a more introspective set here, reaching back to the fuzzy, spacey sounds of releases like the epic double-CD Bliss. Among the drifting sonic washes, there’s the crude, Dead C-like riffing of “Lions + Peonies” and the lock-grooved tremolo of “Son of the Blue Wolf” (referencing previous triumphs like Cloudz).  Bower says: “I have a problem with the term ‘psychedelia’ [and its] negative associations of a ‘hippie’ falseness. Nevertheless, my arte is, I know, deeply psychedelic in a true sense, a kind of synaesthesisia, a scrambling, an overload that seeks Samadhi in its primal gush, that will reconnect one with the all, or rather, a ‘black psychedelia,’ substituting the elective current, for ‘all’....” In addition to the all-new tracks on the LP, the package also includes a bonus CD featuring a Bower-curated overview of his work. Many of the tracks on the 75-min Zebra Blood CD are from scarce or out-of-print recordings, including “Austrian Shade” from an impossible-to-find Total seven-inch. Also included is the epic and exclusive new track “Spirit Animal Danzig.”


More By Label


playUsui, H.

Sings The Blues

May 27th, 2014

See all from Vhf label >


Upcoming Releases

Hazlewood, LeeThe N.s.v.i.p.’s (not So Very Important People)
LP: August 5th, 2014,
Label: 1972