• #1 Solemn Strikes the Funeral Chime
  • #2 White Cold Wrath Burnt Frozen Blood
  • #3 Descent of the Flames
  • #4 The June Frost
  • #5 A Slow March to the Burial
  • #6 The Februar Winds
  • #7 Suicide Choir
  • #8 The Wreath
Single MP3s for this release are $0.99.
This album includes one or more tracks available only with a full album download.


Mournful Congregation / June Frost

20 Buck Spin

formats available
  • CD
    SPIN 053
    Street Date:
    October 16th, 2012
    Ship Date:
    October 8th, 2012
    Street Date:
    October 16th, 2012

Login with your wholesale account for wholesale pricing, or contact us at

With their third full-length, 2009’s The June Frost (referring to the Winter season in the band’s home of Australia, of course), Mournful Congregation finally secured a proper North American release on the small Enucleation Records label. And though this helped to increase the band’s status in the States, the label unfortunately ceased to operate not long after the album came out and Mournful Congregation were once again without support—until joining forces with 20 Buck Spin in 2011.  Thankfully, the quality of material on The June Frost—another eight tracks of freezing white, solemn and progressive funereal doom—achieved the first real accolades for the band from the wider metal press. Consisting of four primary extended songs and four shorter instrumental passages in between, it echoes elements of the earliest Anathema recordings in terms of both heaviness and heartbreak. Plenty of acoustic passages, drawn-out single notes and creative arranging make Mournful’s refined, classical sound the epitome of the genre, leading up to their 2011 masterpiece The Book of Kings. The June Frost is finally back in print as part of 20 Buck Spin’s series of Mournful Congregation back-catalog pressings.  “A perfect semblance of somber ethereal beauty and soul crushing sadness....” —Teeth of the Divine  “An ultimate experience of profound grief.” —Heathen Harvest  “Carrying the funeral doom torch with fervor, they have set the bar almost immeasurably high.” —Chronicles of Chaos


More By Artist

See all from Mournful Congregation >


More By Label

See all from 20 Buck Spin label >


Upcoming Releases

BotanistVI: Flora
FLAC DOWNLOAD: August 19th, 2014, CD: August 19th, 2014, LP: August 19th, 2014, MP3 DOWNLOAD: August 19th, 2014,
Label: Flenser